Insights for Athletes

Whether you are an talented upcoming athlete or a new parent looking to introduce your child to a healthy sport, finding useful information on how to train is always a challenge. To help you on your journey, following is a brief overview of the long term athletic development (LTAD) guidelines.

Seven stages within LTAD:

Stage 1: Active Start (0-6 years)
Stage 2: FUNdamentals (girls 6-8, boys 6-9)
Stage 3: Learn to Train (girls 8-11, boys 9-12)
Stage 4: Train to Train (girls 11-15, boys 12-16)
Stage 5: Train to Compete (girls 15-21, boys 16-23)
Stage 6: Train to Win (girls 18+, boys 19+)
Stage 7: Active for Life (any age participant)

10 key influencers of LTAD

1. Physical Literacy
2. Specialization
3. Development Age
4. Sensitive Periods
5. Mental, Cognitive and Emotional Development
6. Periodization
7. Competition
8. Excellence Takes Time
9. System Alignment
10. Continuous Improvement – Kaizen

Stay tuned for more featured insights as we ramp up for an exciting 2020.